Becky Says...

September 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Return - September 20

Yesterday the rain came. It was later in the afternoon that I had expected, but that's all right. I had planned to be in before it started, and I definitely was.

On a recent day when rain wasn't an issue, I was downtown and had a chance to, in a small way, return a favor.

Some of you remember that when I was riding the bus to and from work last year I had a bus driver on the route from the office to downtown who would call ahead to the driver of the bus from downtown to my apartment if we were running late.

The driver of the route to home was nice enough to wait a couple of minutes for me, which meant that I didn't have to wait downtown in the dark for forty minutes. And that meant a lot to me.

This year, when my personal schedule is vastly different, I occasionally run into those two bus drivers, either on the bus or downtown. Earlier this month I was running an errand and was approaching the checkout at the store in which I'd been shopping. I saw the driver who had been nice enough to wait, approaching the line from another direction.

We exchanged pleasantries, then I realized the way traffic in the store was going I was going to reach the checkout before him. So I offered him my place in line. He accepted, thanked me, and said it would give him an extra minute to catch his own bus.

I'm telling this not to pat my own back, but to remind myself and anyone else who needs the reminder that we all have something we can give, even if it's as small as a minute.

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky