Becky Says...

August 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Wednesday - August 23

Classes started today at Carolina. It is nice to have the students back in town, but sometimes it's also a little overwhelming, when they all need to go shopping at the same time.

Anyway, the start of classes meant the stores were a little less crowded than earlier in the week, so I went out to run an errand late in the afternoon. One of the stores I was in looked like it had been hit by people preparing for a blizzard, in terms of bare shelves, but I found what I needed and as I shopped I saw stock being replenished.

I noticed the transit system had someone out watching the buses at my stop downtown. I gathered, from what I heard, that he was calling the transit office as buses arrived at the stop, to announce that the bus had arrived and whether or not it was on time.

He also was paying attention to the numbers of passengers on each route. This will no doubt help the transit people figure out what routes need extra buses added at certain times.

And his presence was handy for several people, since he could dispense information about the system and the various routes.

This is the first year I've noticed such. I definitely think it's a good idea. and for me, another reason to think good things about the local transit system.

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky