Becky Says...

May 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Lessons - May 30

Late last night I learned more than I ever wanted to know about the doorknob/lock mechanism of my bathroom. That was the second lesson. First came the lesson about being careful to check that the door doesn't get locked when using the inside doorknob of my bathroom door as a place to let a scrubbing cloth dry.

I hadn't realized that my hand had even touched the lock mechanism when I hung the cloth to dry. And I had closed the door behind myself, without checking the outside knob.

Then a few minutes later I needed to go back into the bathroom, only to find the door locked.

I didn't particularly want to call in the emergency maintenance people, since it would require several phone calls and mean a lot of time. So I tried a couple of things as skeleton keys, then determined that the only way I was going to get into the part of the lock that would actually unlock was to remove the doorknob.

And that's precisely what I did. Mercifully, I knew quite well where the screwdrivers were. Turns out I needed two: one philips to get the screws out, then a flat one to unlock the lock.

A few minutes later, and I was able to get into the bathroom.

Hmm. Maybe I should look into locksmith training.

* * * * * * * * * * *

In case you missed this: I've updated the Rebeccaworks links page. Among other things there, I'd like to call your attention to My Insurance Professional, if you're in Virginia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, or the District of Columbia (other locations coming soon). Its owner is a friend of mine, and I'm sure he'll do a good job for you.

And as always, I'd appreciate it if you'd consider me for your freelance needs. Like it says in the sidebar:

What I can do for you:
Business Services
featuring website backups
Handcrafts
featuring Repairs to Heirlooms
and Custom Crochet

Gift Certificates!

What you can do for me:
Hire me
Donations and other help
are always welcome

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky