Becky Says...

February 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Addressee Unknown - February 11

Here's a hint: before you put your home address in e-mail, make sure you are sending it only to those to whom you mean to send it.

I got e-mail today to one of my accounts, but it was apparently intended for someone named Tony. No, I don't know him.

In the message, sent to him and quite a few other people (I could see the whole list) was the sender's home address and telephone number, along with a couple of sentences about how they were in their new home, blah, blah.

I decided before I got on the sender's family and friends list for keeps, I should reply:

"You're apparently a real person, so I'm writing to tell you that Tony whoever does not receive mail at this address...I do. This address is connected to the online site, (this one), and I don't know the person you think is reading this mail.

"I promise I won't do anything scurrilous like show up on your doorstep, but I thought you might want to edit your address book. Congratulations on getting moved!"

Yes, I really did refer to the intended recipient as "Tony whoever." It was easier than trying to copy the last name, or write it down somewhere.

I hope Tony whoever finally gets the e-mail intended for him, and that the rest of the addresses on the sender's list were accurate. Otherwise, someone may wind up with some very unexpected and probably unwelcome guests.

Text � copyright 2000-2006 Becky