Becky Says...

January 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Time Travel - January 21

Today featured a trip downtown to run an errand. I hadn't ridden the Saturday bus before, but it was a lot like a trip back in time.

When I first started working at Non-Profit #1, I rode the bus to downtown every weekday. In those days buses from here to there used either a local route or an express one. Based on my working hours, I usually wound up riding the local one.

The local route went through several neighborhoods on its way to the downtown business district. I got to know quite a few people from those neighborhoods while riding that bus; not necessarily know then well, but to have at least a nodding acquaintance with them when we'd meet under other circumstances.

Nowdays, only the express route is run from here to there on weekdays, with those other neighborhoods being served by another route. If I see my former co-riders, it's in another locale altogether. We do still have the nodding acquaintanceships, in case you wondered.

But the Saturday route takes me back through part of the old local route. I didn't happen to see anyone I knew from earlier times, but I got a chance to see changes made to the area, including some new homes and new paint on old ones. It was nice to see the familiar sights, and to see that the things new-to-me fit in well with the familiar.

A bus as a time machine. Who knew?!

Text � copyright 2000-2006 Becky