Becky Says...

January 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Unreal - January 10

There is a lot of discussion various places today about James Frey and his book, A Million Little Pieces.. The discussion is of the apparent points of fiction in a book that has been presented as fact.

If you want more information on the story, go to The Smoking Gun.

I'm disgusted. I haven't read the book, but I saw the author on a recent talk show rerun. And his story really grabbed my heart. I was planning to look for the book. Not now.

Bear in mind that I really like fiction. I really enjoy reading a good story, and don't mind reading clearly-labeled fictional accounts of real events. But the clearly-labeled thing is a big, big deal to me.

If an author presents something as being totally, utterly true, as Frey has done, I don't want to hear that anything about it has been manufactured to make the story flow better. I even want to see a disclaimer for using pseudonyms.

So that one won't make it onto my list of must-reads. It's firmly entrenched on the must-avoids.

Text � copyright 2000-2006 Becky