Becky Says...

November 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Weekend - November 27

This has been an odd couple of days. I had plans for yesterday that I cancelled since my foot decided to ache a lot, after a few days of behaving itself. I don't know why that was, but I decided to give in to the urge to stay off of it for the most part.

Today my foot is better, but the day itself was wet and dreary and miserable and I don't really care how much we need rain, it could have held off a few hours or till tomorrow when I don't want to go on a long walk. So I stayed home.

One good thing I did with my time was read websites, most particularly this essay of David's about social interaction. I identify with a lot of what he wrote, especially the parts about doing things alone and about many friends being scattered. We tend to share the hermit thing, in case you've ever wondered. I think it has its roots in being only children.

I remember back in 1999, after I left the law firm job, there was a week when the music publisher was on vacation and I was working alone. After a few days, I went in search of a couple of local friends, because I realized I had not seen anyone all week who knew my name.

That was the first time that particular phenomenon had happened, but by no means the last. Once I started doing freelance work exclusively, the intervals of solitude were plentiful, and quit bothering me.

These days, I don't get to spend much time with non-work friends, but it doesn't seem odd because we keep up by e-mail fairly often. For me, that's perhaps the best invention of the last century. Especially since it has helped me make a few friends, one of whom is, of course, David.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky