Becky Says...

November 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Bookends - November 15

This birthday of mine began on a wonderful note, with an IM just past midnight from TeKay, who wrote, "happy birthday to the greatest woman ever to walk the planet..." Nothing quite like being referred to as such to get a day off to a good start!

My special day continued with e-greetings from several friends and one chosen brother in the early morning hours. All those were lovely, and I'm still in the process of writing thank-you messages to the senders. As the morning went on, there were phone messages, one of which I haven't had a chance to return.

My foot, after a night's rest, was happy to fit into the ankle brace this morning, so I was in better shape to limp to the bus than I would have been otherwise. Luckily, it was warm here, so a pair of sandals didn't seem outrageous. Outrageous or not, they're making my sore foot happy, so they'll probably be the footwear of choice for the next several days.

The trick with the brace, apparently, is to put it on as soon as you get up, so no swelling has had time to start. One trip across the room to turn off the buzzing alarm clock didn't make the swelling start, by the way.

At work I got lots of birthday wishes, first from Younger Partner, whose birthday was yesterday. I had tried to send a happy birthday e-mail message to him yesterday afternoon, in the middle of the ISP mess-up that caused my note about staying home to be so late. That message got bounced back to me, way too late in the day to call him. The official office celebration of November birthdays will be held Thursday, and will include Rick, whose birthday is later in the month.

After I'd had lunch and was working quietly at my desk, a lovely surprise arrived; flowers and chocolates from Patrick. I'm sorry I didn't have the camera with me, but I'll try to take a picture tomorrow.

Other gifts (money, which always fits) and some great cards and notes arrived during the course of the day, many waiting for me when I got home. All are deeply appreciated, and some still await thank-you messages.

Also deeply appreciated: the kindnesses of people who started birthday threads at several message boards, and those who posted to said threads.

On my way home, I missed the bus to my apartment complex by moments. But for once, that was all right. It gave me a chance to treat myself to take-out from Spanky's, and in doing so to participate in RSVVP Day (Restaurants Sharing V + V Percent --- that's five plus five, if your Roman Numeral skills are rusty), on which participating restaurants donate ten percent of every meal's price to local charities working to combat hunger.

Dinner in hand, I got on the last bus home. After I got my mail, I ate and read greeting cards, and smiled and thought about what a happy day this has been. My thanks to all of you who had a part in making it so.

And the end of the day? Another IM from TeKay, saying he hoped my day was a beautiful one. It was, my friend, it was.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky