Becky Says...

November 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Bad and Good - November 14

The bad is that on my way to the bus to go to work I stepped off a curb just wrong and twisted my right foot. That's the "good" foot, in terms of tendonitis, for those of you keeping score.

Since I was quite close to the mail kiosk, I picked up the mail, then decided to head back to my apartment to get the ankle brace. I figured I'd send an e-mail message to Wendy and Kathy, announcing that I would be late, when I got here.

Then I got all the way here and tried on the ankle brace. Which hurt like pure hell. So I took it off, limped over to the computer, and sent an e-mail message announcing my tale of woe and that I would stay home and baby myself. I suggested e-mail was the best way to reach me, should a need arise

Turns out the e-mail message was a loooong time getting to the office. More on that later.

At that point, I opened the mail, which begins the good part. There was a wonderful early birthday card from a friend which was deeply appreciated. And there was a package from my name twin who has her domain back.

In the package was a basket of toiletries, the payment for the domain, and a lovely thank-you note. It was most generous of her to send the basket, on top of paying for the part of the year when the domain was not hers.

It gives me a lot of pleasure to know that she has back something that means a great deal to her. And I doubt very seriously that she'll ever be without that domain again.

In my e-mail inbox a bit later was another early birthday greeting, from someone who won't be near a computer tomorrow. That one was also deeply appreciated.

I spent the better part of the afternoon with my foot propped up. I watched some television in addition to doing some websurfing. I really enjoyed the "Oprah" twentieth anniversary show. It brought back a lot of memories.

The late e-mail message mentioned above is coupled with a cell phone I forgot to turn on, and an Internet connection using the landline. Most of my friends know that if they get a busy signal on the landline, they should try the cell number. But in my haste to prop my foot, I forgot to take the phone out of my handbag, and didn't realize that till dinnertime.

When I finally did turn on the cell phone, there were two voice mail messages, both from Wendy and both left several hours after I had sent the aforementioned e-mail message. The first was expressing concern that they hadn't heard from me, and hoped I was all right. The second, a few minutes later, was to say I should disregard the previous message and that she hoped my foot was better.

I am going to try to make it to work tomorrow, but if I don't, I think my absence will be understood no matter when the e-mail announcement arrives. Or I could do something totally rad and use the phone!

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky