Becky Says...

November 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Moments of Odd - November 9

This day has had a couple of odd moments.

The power went off at some point early this morning, before I was up. Then it flickered back on, shortly before I was supposed to be up, but immediately went off again. What woke me was the sound of the answering machine clicking on and off. The power finally came back on about five minutes before I needed to leave for work.

Being startled awake like that was jarring, if for no other reason than the sound of the machine turning itself on then off is not one I usually hear. The lack of power wasn't as bad as it might have been, since I had saved coffee in a carafe from the night before, and had already had my shower. Getting dressed by a combination of flashlight and sun through the curtains was easy.

After work, the bus heading to downtown was on time, so I relaxed, knowing I'd have time to get from one bus stop to the other to catch the bus to my home. I got to the corner and saw what I was sure was my bus coming toward the stop. I knew I could make it, since the bus had to wait for a traffic light.

Then I got to the stop and wondered if I was hallucinating about the bus I had seen approaching, because I could see a bus with my route's name on it pulling away from the stop and heading through the next traffic light.

But no worries, the bus I had seen coming toward the stop was still en route. The one leaving the stop was apparently running terribly late. When we got to the apartment complex, that bus was just turning around to leave.

I was glad to get home. And I am pleased to report that the rest of the night has been boringly normal. Boringly normal is good!

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky