Becky Says...

October 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Friday Trio - October 28

I'm sure some of you have been waiting with bated breath for the next installment of the saga of Becky and the Bus System. Today's rides were fine. And I found out what had happened on Wednesday to cause what turned out to be a very long delay was a traffic accident.

The driver of my usual bus going from the office to downtown Chapel Hill told me this after saying she had thought I had given up on her. I said I had on Wednesday, at which point she told me about the accident. She got interrupted, so I don't know the details.

* * * * * * * * * * *

One thing that made me smile this morning on the way to the office was a little girl riding the bus with her mother. I'm not sure where they had been, but wherever it was had been tiara-worthy to the little girl, who was dressed in pink and wearing a tiara with pink stones in it.

I'm a firm believer that every little princess should have tiara-worthy occasions, especially since the tiara-wearing little princesses usually have such happy faces. I'm not sure it's possible to refrain from smiling at them.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I heard a lovely tribute to Rosa Parks the other night when Tavis Smiley spoke of how he came to know her. The transcript of it is available here. And I definitely think it is meet and right that Mrs. Parks will lie in honor in the U.S. Capitol's rotunda.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky