Becky Says...

October 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Brainless - October 24

You don't want to know what I did to the word, "referred," when I was typing this afternoon. Let's just say it's a good thing I saw it, knew what it was supposed to be, and fixed it before a spell check. Because the poor spell checker would have thought I was going for an entirely different word.

By the time I made that typo, I was wondering if I had somehow accidentally removed my brain when I went to bed last night. My day contained several brainless moments.

First one was getting up and wondering why my alarm clock was alarming. I apparently had been dreaming that I had planned to take today off. Good thing I woke the rest of the way up and realized that I was coming off a dream. Otherwise, I might well have stayed home, thinking I had already arranged to do so.

The next brainless moment was at work. I was handed a letter with a different signature than what we had on file as the client's name. I thought I was being asked whether or not we should change the name in our files, and I suggested we wait until the client instructed us. Turned out I was being shown that the client had gotten distracted and had signed part of her own name and part of that of the law firm.

In my defense on that one, her handwriting is not the clearest and I misread her error. I do ordinarily recognize the firm name.

The rest of the afternoon passed without incident. Then came the aforementioned error with the word, "referred." It is probably very good that was one of the last things I needed to do before the end of the workday.

I am happy to report that I have had no major brainless moments since arriving home. I think I used up my quota earlier in the day.

Text � copyright 2000-2005 Becky