Becky Says...

September 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Wednesday in Chapel Hill - September 7

Some days what I wind up doing is a little outside my usual daily routine. Today, for instance, I wound up programming a friend's cell phone. She hasn't had one before, and decided she wanted one to use for outgoing calls while she recuperates from an illness. So I helped her acquire it, and spent some time today dealing with the gadget itself.

I hadn't thought I wanted a cell phone, but as time went by, I decided that it would be better if I had one. So I got a prepaid one, and I think that was one of the better decisions I made. It has come in handy more than once, and has made me feel safe at times when I otherwise felt vulnerable. Also, I love having what amounts to free long distance with it. I cancelled the long distance part of my landline service, based on being able to use the cell phone for that.

* * * * * * * * * * *

After a week or so of disruption, Chapel Hill has once again figured out how to deal with the presence of all the college students. Traffic is beginning to return to normal speed, and that means both days I've worked this week the bus to go home has been on time instead of seriously late. That makes my life a whole lot easier.

Of course, this is the season when fraternities and sororities are having rush. It's interesting to ride by the various houses and see things pertaining to rush that, on the surface, look odd. Like three women sitting in chairs on the sidewalk, facing a sorority house, and apparently there to keep watch over a collection of totebags and other paraphernalia lined up from one end of the property to the other. I'm sure they had some perfectly good reason for this, but to the onlooker, the reason was hidden.

And so goes the beginning of Fall Semester.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky