Becky Says...

August 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Tired - August 4

Tonight, I'm tired. I'm a little down, mainly I think from being tired. I had a fairly good day, including the freedom to stay a little later at work to finish some things because I was given a ride home and didn't have to follow the bus schedule.

Don't get me wrong. I have a great deal of fondness for the bus system. But I hate that many of the routes don't have service after 7:00 p.m. It definitely makes an impact on my preferred method of staying at work till I'm through with what I'm doing that day. I miss my car. I miss my independence.

This has been a busy week. I'm not sorry to see it ending, on one hand, and on the other I could have used a spare day, probably parked between Tuesday and Wednesday. There ought to be some provision in the calendar for that.

I don't have much else to say. I think I need sleep now.

Delegating - August 3

Today was a very busy day at the law firm. In between serving as witness for clients signing documents and preparing documents for the next set of clients, I had been in Wendy's office and noticed that office Golden Retriever Zoe's water bowl was almost empty, but at that moment I didn't have time to refill it. I planned to do so in a few minutes, but got distracted.

Then it was time for lunch. Zoe came to my office to have hers, then went back to Wendy's office. Within a few minutes, she was back over to mine. I knew what the problem was.

But I was a tired, hungry Handmaiden to the Golden at that point, so I decided I'd let technology and Zoe's mom help out. I chose to use the intercom, so I punched the button for Wendy's office. When she answered, I asked her to please get her dog some water.

Zoe, upon realizing I had delegated the task, turned to go back to Wendy's office (also known as Zoe's room) and waited for the water to appear.

Further reports on the matter showed that the water was indeed gotten and the dog settled in for a long afternoon's nap. Because it's rough being an office dog if you don't get your full 23 hours of sleep.

Later on, Wendy and I reaffirmed our fondness for technology, which definitely came in handy. And I'm reasonably sure that request will go down as one of the odder ones Wendy has ever received over the intercom.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky