Becky Says...

July 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Aunt Becky's Nephew - July 14

Today at work we had a different dog. Zoe is taking a few days off, but her brother dog, Pippin, came to work with Rick this morning. Pippin is an Alaskan Eskimo dog, small and white and fluffy. Perhaps not the dog you would picture belonging to the senior partner of a law firm, but trust me on this: they are an almost inseparable pair.

When I got to work, Rick was in a meeting. Pippin was waiting rather patiently in the hallway just outside Rick's office door. Pippin knows me, so he did get up and come to greet me. But then he was back at his post. As soon as Rick came back to his office, Pippin went into the office with him and perched just within Rick's reach.

Pippin clearly understood that my role in his day was to refill the water bowl. Zoe must have told him, because as soon as he wanted more water, he didn't go to Rick, he came straight to my office and looked up at me till I got the hint. Zoe probably also told him that sometimes you have to be patient with me and stare really hard to get me to figure out what it is I'm supposed to do, because that's precisely what he did.

It didn't take him too long to get me to get the point, though, because I realized from whence he had come, and when I said, "Do you need some water?" he headed back toward the spot where the bowl lives. I followed, and did the deed.

I am, after all, quite well trained.

* * * * * * * * * * *

A dear friend has been diagnosed this week with terminal cancer. I ask that those of you who pray ask for strength for her and her family as they face the future, and that those of you who do not pray send out whatever good vibes you will toward the same end. This is an unexpected illness, and we are all in shock at the moment.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Patrick's play, Hit Me, is one of the ten plays in this year's 10 X 10 in Carrboro. TeKay is directing the play. Patrick plans to attend the July 16 performance and participate in the reception.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky