Becky Says...

April 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Of News and Some News - April 1

"A comment on manners: no matter how excited you are at someone's news, please don't pass it along if it isn't your place to do so. Someone tonight did just that, and the person whose news was shared is probably going to be too nice to say anything about it. But I'm not. Mind your own damned business."

I posted the above paragraph in 2003, and it bears repeating. I don't know about you, but I don't have a lot of outstandingly good news events happen in my life. So when I do, I want to be the one to tell it, even if the news itself is expected. If you take that away from me, I feel cheated.

And I promise you, anyone ever spilling my outstandingly good news will be called on it, in public.

* * * * * * * * * * *

As it happens, I do have one piece of news today, which might not be outstanding, but was excellent to me. I had a chance meeting with the local chosen brother. We love each other dearly, but our paths don't cross that often, thanks to job schedules, etc.

So today, on a day when I was tired and achy and it was raining, I had about five minutes of feeling all loved and special, and getting a wonderful hug.

And a laugh:

Me:          How are you?

Brother:    I'm old, arthritic, fat, and tired.

Me:          I can say the same of myself!

Of such silliness (and a common interest in music) was our friendship born. For the record, except for arthritic and tired, we were both exaggerating. We went on to talk a bit about our lives, then we went on with our respective errands.

Nothing earth-shaking, but it made my day.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky