Becky Says...

March 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March Weirdness - March 31

I knew this was going to be a weird day when I read this entry of Patrick's about baking, and recognized the head. I hadn't realized until just that moment that Patrick (nee Martin Stewart) and I had both dated the same man.

I immediately wrote to Martin, er, Patrick and thanked him for taking care of the pesky son-of-a-bitch for once and for all. Patrick wrote back, letting me know he hadn't realized it was the same man (he had a common name), and saying he was sure his birth mother would appreciate his being, "able to 'kill two birds with one stone' ... er, literally."

Patrick is a good friend. He is planning a trip in the not-too-distant future to this part of the world, and I look forward to that. But I have decided it will be for the best if he does not have solo access to my kitchen, especially not to the freezer. I'm sure he'll understand.

Next weirdness was the traffic on the way to work. I was heading in that direction when the car in front of me slowed to a crawl. I soon realized we were coming up to a flagman, and that he was stopping traffic so no one working on a utility project would get hurt. Only there was no one working on a utility project. There were about half a dozen people in someone's front yard, looking at a freshly-dug hole.

In what was apparently an attempt to give the hole its best angle for photographs (because who wouldn't want to see that on the front page of the paper?) the lane going in my direction had been closed, and all the vehicular traffic was sharing the other lane, whenever the flagman and his counterpart at the other end of the hole's yard could tear their eyes away from the hole and remember to let one line of vehicles move.

I did finally get to work. There was some normalcy in the day, but then things got weird again as I was getting ready to leave. My final work task for the day was to write my paycheck. I put the information into the program, and loaded a check into the printer. When the check came out I immediately knew that there was a sense of humor far superior to mine.

As you may know, a large part of my job this time of year has to do with copying and assembling income tax returns, the vast majority of which utilize Form 1040. So what was so funny? My paycheck was printed on check number 10400.

I drove very, very carefully to the bank.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky