Becky Says...

March 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Challenges - March 24

There are facts about the Schiavo situation that keep getting lost. One of those is that private legislation in Congress is not so unusual. The main difference between this bill and any other such legislation is the publicity surrounding it.

I think there is much room for discussion, but to give dignity to Terri Schiavo, I think it's truly important to get the facts right before discussing this case, either its medical aspects or its legal ones.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Possibly the smartest thing I did for myself today was get up early and go run my errands. That meant at the end of a challenging day I could come home to do nothing and plenty of it.

Details. Okay, my first work thing today was to assemble the tax returns and two copies thereof of a couple whose returns had a lot of information forms that had to be attached.

Once I had made the file copies of all those information forms, I realized that to try assembling those returns on my desk would be begging for trouble, so I took over one of the conference rooms and spread all my pieces of paper out. Armed with a trusty stapler, I set to work. I think it took about half an hour to get all the various pieces sorted and stapled where they were to go. I was very pleased to finish that project.

The attorney for whom I had done the work and I both would have danced in the hallway, but we would have run into the man from the water utility who was explaining that there was a leaky water main that would need replacing today, and that all the water to the complex would be turned off at a certain point in the afternoon. That was indeed useful information, although he told us a lot more about water pressure than we really needed to know.

Once I got all the way back to my office, I filled out a deposit slip and headed to the bank with the firm's deposit. The water workers and their heavy equipment were blocking the way I would usually have gone to the bank, so I went to a different branch (and stopped to get supper for myself while I was out---another smart move).

I got back to deal with some printer drama. Yesterday I had changed one setting on my printer which apparently truly confused the machine. It decided that I wanted everything printed in red ink. I thought I had solved that one before I left yesterday, but it turns out I hadn't.

Today I found at least a workable solution, by looking a little deeper into the print commands. Which was good, because next on my agenda was opening files (starting them) for a number of clients, and that requires a good bit of printing. I knew that would take the rest of my work time, and continue into tomorrow.

Late, late in the day I realized the second-best thing I could do to make the last remaining bits of opening these files go more smoothly would be to make careful note of what remained to be done. Then I came home to do the best thing: get some rest!

Text � copyright 2000-2005 Becky