Becky Says...

March 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






The Unusuals - March 22

This has been a day filled with some unusual things. First among them was having to rearrange my life to deal with having a car minus one headlight and a garage that didn't have time to fix it. Before you write to tell me how to fix it myself, thanks, but I already know. I'm not doing it myself because I don't really have the hand strength necessary. This car has had an amazing run of long-lived parts. This is the first time a headlight has needed replacing, and it's almost eighteen years old.

There were a few questions to be dealt with this afternoon, from a phone caller who didn't quite understand that I wasn't going to give him information about a client, no matter how cleverly he asked. I can turn into a brick wall sometimes, and I proved that point this afternoon. I'm a little out of practice answering such calls, and it felt really good to get to handle one again.

Thanks to needing to get home before dark, I wound up deciding to bring work home with me. I got all the necessary information from the office, and have just finished doing the work. It's been a little odd sitting here with my laptop in my lap working on legal documents. I haven't done them on a laptop in several years.

Back when I got my first laptop, the law firm had fewer computers than it does now. As my job there evolved into work that needed more computer time, it was much simpler to take my own computer in rather than wait for one of the attorneys to be finished with his or hers so that I could use it.

This time, there are plenty of computers there, so all I needed was a floppy disk. I could have e-mailed the work back and forth, but this method allowed me to know for sure that even if the Internet broke, I'd have the documents I needed. And now, the work is done and is stored on the same floppy, ready to go back to the office tomorrow.

Since I'm one of those kids who never did like having to get up to finish her homework, that I'm done with the work is not unusual at all.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky