Becky Says...

March 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Trays - March 7

I'm not always good at doing things associated with house moves. There's the bad back to consider, and the tendency toward tendinitis in my hands gets in the way, too. But if what you need to make things go more easily in the new digs is the obscure kitchen item, well, apparently I'm on the way to becoming your go-to woman.

A friend was mentioning the other day that in her upcoming change of dwellings she was going to have enough drawer space in her new kitchen that she would be able to store all her flatware there, instead of needing to use the sideboard she'd been using. She already had other plans for the sideboard, and mentioned that what she really wanted was small trays for the flatware, so that all the knives would go in one, for example, and all the spoons in another.

We talked about how those individual trays intended to be used in kitchen drawers used to be readily available, but that apparently no one local was carrying them anymore. Then I had a brainstorm. I have been using small basket-type plastic trays for a few years now, to organize things in my apartment. One holds nearly all my nail polish; another holds packing supplies for the Anyday Ornaments. I mentioned them, and said I was pretty sure they'd be large enough.

I thought out loud a few moments, about what else I have stored in the trays, and remembered that one of them has letter-sized envelopes in it. That sealed the deal in terms of whether or not they'd be long enough for a place knife.

My friend thought those might work just fine, so I said since I was going shopping over the weekend anyway, I'd be happy to look for some. Look I did, and bought the four I found that matched each other. I didn't want to keep my friend in suspense as to the shopping results, so I pulled out the camera and got a shot of the tray (with a table knife in it for proof positive), to send with e-mail telling the dimensions. My friend was pleased.

So much so that when I delivered the trays today, she asked if I would keep an eye out for more that size, even if they were a different color. I can do that! In fact, I found and bought another one already.

Tray

Text and photograph © copyright 2000-2005 Becky