Becky Says...

March 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Paper, Paper, and News - March 4

The shredder at work has been working overtime this week, and today it rebelled. Its first jam happened to catch Kathy, and the two of us were able to clear it without much trouble---it only took two because it hadn't jammed on Kathy before, at least not to the extent it did today, and she wasn't quite sure where to look for the wadded bits of paper. I was able to both help her and show her where the machine hid some of the little bits of shredded paper, in case she's alone in the office and jam happens.

Then it jammed for Wendy. And it did so in a manner most unbecoming of an office machine. The upshot of that is that Wendy decided to show it which of them had seniority and opposable thumbs. She won. When she was through getting bits of paper out of the shredder's favorite hiding places, the machine knew it had met its match. It had a softer, gentler sound as it sank its teeth into the next item in need of shredding. It was all but humming.

While Wendy was having her fun with a small pair of pliers and a trashcan (not to worry; the shredder was unplugged), I was in my office doing the cleanup of the items the paper fairy had deposited on my desk. Let's just say the paper fairy was most generous in her deposit.

As the afternoon became evening, I realized I didn't know how Patrick's meeting with his current boss had gone, so I wrote to him. A little while later, I knew the gist of this. And as he found out late tonight when he signed on his IM program and said hello, I am very happy for him.

Actually, I've understated that. I'm thrilled for him, both that he got the new job and that his current boss was so great about it.

And now the day is done, and I am tired. Yes, that's another understatement.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky