Becky Says...

March 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






A List, with Preface - March 3

For some reason, I'm having a hard time coming up with much to say tonight. This may be because in one way or another, I've been writing all day. I did a small amount of writing at work, and a lot of writing at home. Much of the home part was in e-mail to friends, especially those noted in the next two paragraphs.

Condolences tonight to Rick and Duncan on the recent death of Duncan's mother.

And congratulations to Patrick on the job news!

Anyway, since I don't have much new to say, I'm going to share something I posted to The Usual Suspects board a few days ago. There's a meme out, asking people to list ten things they have done that others might not have done. It was both quite easy and quite hard to come up with this list. Some of these things I have told you before. And when I made the list, I made no attempt to rank the list items.

 1. Watched my father drop dead, a week before my fourth birthday.

 2. Made the decision to let my mother's final illness run its course, then told her of my decision.

 3. Was invited backstage before a concert by duo-piano team Ferrante and Teicher, to meet them.

 4. Graphs I designed and plotted were printed in the Journal of the Experimental Analysis of Behavior.

 5. While I was in college, I worked for a year at a state mental hospital. During that time, I helped develop and conduct a survey and wrote a report on it, which wound up being a major part of a report to the state on the different treatment options available at the time.

 6. Went to Canada for lunch.

 7. Suggested and helped arrange the first Lutheran-Episcopal joint communion service in Chapel Hill.

 8. Was one of (if not the) first female liturgists in my Lutheran congregation.

 9. Have the autograph of the University of North Carolina's former President on my diploma, alongside the engraved version of his signature.

10. Played music that was composed for me, and played music that I composed.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky