Becky Says...

January 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Comfort Food and an Ad - January 5

I had to go shopping on my way home from work Tuesday night. Somehow, over the weekend I managed to skip getting groceries. And the cupboard was getting bare. I made sure to stock up on comfort food, because I'd had one of those days where I was feeling all sorts of not comfortable.

My back is in one of its unrelenting spells. It isn't excruciatingly painful, but it hasn't stopped hurting in several days. The weather gets a lot of the credit for that. But if I have to have a backache because there are competing weather fronts bringing 70-plus degree weather to Chapel Hill in January, well, there have been worse things in my life. So I'll cope, and have a cookie with that Ibuprofen.

* * * * * * * * * * *

In the see-it-while-it's-still-airing department, there is an ad running for a singles line in Raleigh. It's not your usual ad, at least not for North Carolina. It's aimed at gay men.

I thought I was perhaps not paying attention the first time I heard it; that I was perhaps missing where they called it the women-call-for-males line. So I sat very still the next time I saw the ad start (hard to miss the really gorgeous man who starts the banter), and listened very carefully.

And no, there was no mention of women, and one man in a fairly suggestive reclining pose announced, "This singles line is how I met Robert."

Those of you who are new to this site might need to be told what longer-time readers know: I have utterly no objection to said ad. I just know my state fairly well and find the ad's running here to be surprising.

It's also a bold move on the part of the station management. If the ad continues to run without complaints, it's perhaps a sign that the liberals are coming out of the election-induced depression.

Oh, and since I know who quite a few of my readers are, anyone between relationships who would like to check out the service should feel free to ask. I'll be glad to watch the ad again and write down the numbers for you. Consider it a reader perk!

* * * * * * * * * * *

Another reader perk, this one aimed at readers of all sexual orientations, is the notify list. Information on being added to it is here.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Holidailies

I am delighted to be participating again in Holidailies. In addition to those participating in the portal, there are writers who are doing "Holidailies at Home." A list of those participants, as well as other information about Holidailies, is available through the link.

Text � copyright 2000-2005 Becky