Becky Says...

December 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 19

December 19 is the birthday of a friend of mine. We've drifted, from long being out of the same part of the world. But today he's on my mind, and I wish him well.

It's funny, I don't mind it when some friendships come to a drifting, dwindling place. Others, I mind it terribly. I have another friend in mind now, one who is local. I'm sure we're still friends in the not-enemies sense of the word, but if I were being painfully honest about it, I'd probably say we're good acquaintances now, rather than friends.

And I hate that has happened. At one time, he was one of my best friends, and I miss the ease with which we communicated in those days. Ah well, let's chalk it up to busy people and divergent lives, shall we?

Changing the subject here, as I write this, I'm listening to the King's College, Cambridge, broadcast. The song on this second is "Once in Royal David's City." It's perhaps not that well known a carol in the United States, but it is lovely. I have written many times of loving music. That is particularly true of music usually only heard during the Advent and Christmas seasons.

In part, I listen to such things on WCPE, which does a wonderful job of providing classical music. I am truly lucky to live within their on-air broadcast area, but the station has made great efforts to serve a world-wide population. In fact, at the moment, I'm taking advantage of their audio streaming.

I don't always have music on when I'm working at the computer, in part because sometimes I find myself too distracted by it, and realize I'm paying more attention to the music than to the task at hand. But I'm definitely glad to have it quite literally at my fingertips when I want to partake of the pleasure.

And on a quiet Sunday afternoon, I'm pleased I can do just that.


Holidailies

I am delighted to be participating again in Holidailies. In addition to those participating in the portal, there are writers who are doing "Holidailies at Home." A list of those participants, as well as other information about Holidailies, is available through the link.

Text � copyright 2000-2004 Becky