Becky Says...

December 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 9

Wordshots of Wednesday.

Late in the afternoon, I was outside smoking and heard before I saw three people heading down the sidewalk toward me, singing. When they came into view, it turned out the singers were a mother and two sons, one on either side of her. The older son looked to be about age 6, with the younger probably age 2. The younger boy was outsinging the other two, in volume. Best rendition of "Jingle Bells" I've heard this season.

Once they reached their car, apparently the older boy remembered he had left some really valuable papers wherever it was they had been. So he went running back up the sidewalk. On that trip, I could see clearly that he had a pair of the shoes with the red blinking lights on them. I watched as he reached his destination (And for those worrying, his mother could also see him), retrieved the papers, and sped back toward the car. Those have to be the greatest shoes ever. I wonder if they make them in my size. And high-heeled?

But neither of those two things were the crowning highlight of the day, in terms of joy. That high spot was when I got one of the best hugs I've received in a long time. A friend of mine celebrated six months of sobriety on Wednesday. I happened to remember the date, and congratulated him. On that, he pulled his AA chip from his pocket and showed it to me, then wrapped me in the most triumphant hug that's been delivered this side of the World Series.

I'm incredibly proud of him for making it this far. I know in the great scheme of things these milestones are measured, but the battles are won one day, one hour, one minute at a time. And for his sake and the sake of all who love him, I wish him a lifetime of sober minutes and the strength to reach them.

Holidailies

I am delighted to be participating again in Holidailies. In addition to those participating in the portal, there are writers who are doing "Holidailies at Home." A list of those participants, as well as other information about Holidailies, is available through the link.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky