Becky Says...

December 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 5

A request for you: please check your computers for viruses. Someone who has both my journal e-mail address and that for the Coverquest company has a computer virus. It keeps sending e-mail to me "from" that company. This is relatively harmless to me (I'm good at keeping my antivirus program updated), but damned annoying all the same.

* * * * * * * * * * *

This has been a good day. I got to spend some time chatting with a good friend, and had very good luck with my errands. It seemed that almost everything I wanted to buy when I went shopping was reduced in price.

And one of the clerks noted that I hadn't taken advantage of a buy-one-get-one-free special, so she sent me back to the aisle to get the second, free item while she rang up the rest of my purchases. It's things like that which make shopping pleasant, even on crazy-busy shopping days.

All those good things made for a good day.

Something else good: Holidailies will start on December 7. I'm participating again this year, and am looking forward to it. The current list of participants, as well as other information about Holidailies, is available through the link.

December 4

I made what turned out to be a mistake last night. UNC-TV broadcast a Christmas concert performed by the Hickory Choral Society, and I watched much of it. The concert was lovely. Watching it was a mistake only in that it made me quite sad.

I started thinking about the last times I had visited friends in Hickory (which isn't far from my hometown), and how much I missed the one of those friends who is now dead. The deceased friend had been a music teacher.

I'm pretty sure he was not involved with that particular group; it was started after he was already involved in other things. I know he had worked with civic music groups, in addition to being a teacher in the public school system there.

Hickory is also one of those home bases for Lutherans in North Carolina, in large part because Lenoir-Rhyne College is there. I have spent many a happy time on that campus, even though it never was where I wanted to go to school (they didn't offer what I wanted to major in as a stand-alone major).

That college has a rich tradition of choral music.

Actually, so do many Lutheran colleges.

Anyway, it all added up to making me a little homesick for someplace that really isn't home anymore, and for places that never were home but were welcoming. And made me miss being part of a choral group.

And it was interesting to go through the process of realizing that in almost real time.

Text � copyright 2000-2004 Becky