Becky Says...

November 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






November 2

I did not spend the entire evening watching election returns, which is a good thing. I watched a little bit of other television, then decided a nap was in order.

When I woke up from my nap, I turned on the coverage. One of the first things I did was tell the television newsman to shut up. Not because of anything being reported, but because he was getting on my nerves with comments. I followed my comment with the mute button. I won't name him because he was not doing anything wrong; I just wasn't in the mood for a blabbering newsman.

While I'm on the subject: I hate network estimates with a passion. I want the reality, please, not your guess. I am one of those people who can be quite content with, "We don't know yet, and we'll tell you as soon as we do know." That's an honorable answer.

I am not surprised that we don't have a clear result this year, on the night of the election. There was/is too much at stake for any potential vote to be disregarded.

I am very pleased at the large turnout, nationwide. This election needed all the votes it could get.

And a side note: I am pleased that a lot of parents took their children to the polling places. As I said to a friend this afternoon, I think that's a really easy way to show democracy in action, and to encourage participation in future elections. And yes, I went with my mother to vote many, many times, both before and long after I was old enough to stay home alone.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky