Becky Says...

October 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






October 21

Dear Candace,

As I write this, it's early morning of your fifteenth birthday. I hope it's the best one yet.

I can hardly believe you're in high school, and on the tennis team. Tennis, by the way, was something I enjoyed playing a long time ago. I don't have the legs for it now, but I still think it's a wonderful sport.

We don't get to spend more time together, and I'm sorry about that. I hope you know I meant it not too long ago when we ran into each other online and I told you I was proud of you. I am. I have known a lot of people whose lives weren't going well by the time they reached your age. I'm glad you've managed to avoid pitfalls and a lot of the really dumb mistakes other people have made.

I've seen recent pictures of you, and you're really beautiful, to go along with the smart and the talent and the common sense. You've always been beautiful, my dear. Your mom has sent me pictures through the years, to make up for any times I haven't seen you in person. And I love showing you off. I brag on you a lot, incidentally.

I hope this day begins a year of good things for you. I hope school goes well, that you enjoy having your learner's driving permit, and that you have much time to spend with friends.

Know you have all my best wishes, this day and all days.

Happy Birthday to you!

Much Love,
Aunt Becky

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky