Becky Says...

September 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 16

Today had segments that were weird. Not bad, particularly, but weird. I think it was all the atmospheric changes brought about by Hurricane Ivan's impending visit (and just who keeps promising these storms we in North Carolina will give them cake?) that caused the weirdness.

Whatever the cause, the first hint of weirdness came in the first telephone call I dealt with this afternoon at the law firm. It was from a potential client who wasn't quite sure what she wanted in terms of legal work, but was sure she needed an attorney versed in elder law to help her.

Associate 1 does most of that sort of work in our firm. The woman on the phone grilled both Kathy and me about Associate 1's credentials before being satisfied that the attorney is indeed qualified to deal with matters of elder law. Then she agreed to speak with the attorney. The woman may or may not call back to make an appointment.

And then there was the woman who called and asked for me. By both my first and last names. I took the call, and asked how I could help her. And did she ever tell me. She had several legal matters to discuss, and wanted to know what I was going to do about them. When she paused for breath, I told her I wasn't an attorney, which then got me the question, "Well, what are you?"

I had several possible responses to that one, but the one least likely to get me in trouble was, "I'm the Administrative Assistant," so that's the one I went with. My best guess as to how she got my name was from seeing my signature, either on a copy of someone's document that had needed a witness or on a cover letter sent with those copies.

As it happens, the attorney she would need to speak with about her matters had left for the day. I told her the attorney's name, and the caller said she would call back tomorrow to speak with the attorney.

I think there's a 50-50 chance she'll call back. There's also the same chance she will ask to speak with me instead of the attorney. The only reason I don't think she'll ask for Zoe, the office Golden Retriever, when she calls, is that Zoe's signature does not appear on any documents.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky