Becky Says...

September 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 13

A tale of three companies, two of which found some way to be annoying today.

We still have no DSL at the law firm. The problem is almost definitely in the telephone line, rather than in the DSL modem. The telephone company service tech did show up, sometime between 6:30 Friday night and 8:30 this morning. That's right, came to a business address, on a weekend. After we had been promised a visit by 5:00 p.m. Friday.

Their next promised arrival time was 5:00 p.m. today. If you've guessed they didn't show up, you've guessed correctly. At 5:30, Wendy called the phone company again. This time, the scheduler didn't promise anything. Probably a wise move.

The phone company is company #1 on the list.

Company #2 on the list was an office supply company. Two of their sales reps showed up. They were the non-annoyers. It's a company with which I have done business, but they're out of state and much of the time we need stuff too fast to wait for them to ship it. That's the main reason I haven't been ordering from them.

I told the two reps that unless they could provide a better price than we were paying for dog biscuits (Zoe was playing with the sales reps by this time), we really thought we were getting the best possible deals locally. They tried to get me to accept human cookies as a substitute, but I wasn't buying. Since that was their only attempt to sell me something, and was in good fun, I put them in the amusing category.

Then came company #3. A couple of years ago, I wound up being too nice to a sales rep from a company that provides offsite storage for legal documents. I accidentally allowed the rep's assistant to set up an appointment for the man to come by and explain their services to me (handing over the packet of information would have been too easy, of course).

I wasn't sold; I had already told them we weren't interested in changing our offsite storage. And I've said the same thing every damned time they've called. This company has now decided to market by e-mail. Although I don't remember giving them my work e-mail address, they had it anyway.

And they used it today. When I got home after a DSL-less day and checked my work e-mail through its webmail feature, there was a press release from the company, extolling its virtues. I deleted that one, because I wasn't thinking fast enough to report it as the spam it is. But you can be sure that next time I will do just that.

It will be fun to stop an annoyance in its tracks.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky