Becky Says...

September 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 11

Of a transition.

In yesterday's mail came the newsletter from my church at home. The first thing in the newsletter was a copy of a letter from N., the music director, announcing that she intends to retire in November. And pointing out that she had been on the job for over forty years. I had forgotten exactly when she came to the church, but I knew it was during my junior choir years.

I have some nice memories from that time, but my main memories of N. are from times when I played flute for church services. N. first asked me to play duet with another flutist as part of an anthem accompaniment when I was in college. After that, we worked together quite a few times over the years. Sometimes I was the flute soloist, and a few times I was part of an ensemble for a festival service.

Whenever I worked with N., it was a pleasure for me. I give N. credit for that. Not only is she a talented musician, she is also a patient and kind person whose style of directing people encourages them to do their best. She doesn't bother with any diva-like behavior; she never needed it to get her points across.

It will be hard for anyone to follow her into the job. Notice I do not say, "replace," since that would be impossible.

I wish N. all the best in her retirement, and hope that she has many good memories of her tenure working with the congregation.

* * * * * * * * * * *

The offer of invitations for Gmail is still good. Since it's still in beta testing, the only way to get an account is to be invited. If you'd like one, let me know.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky