Becky Says...

September 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 8

Today's venture out into the world was delayed a bit, thanks to remnants of Frances. As I was getting ready to leave for the law firm, one of the attorneys called to tell me there was a tornado warning; that a tornado had been spotted about six miles south of my apartment. She suggested I might want to stay inside. Since she's a smart woman, and I'm not dumb either, I decided that was really good advice and I took it.

About half an hour later, a check of the weather showed that the tornado had moved significantly northeast of me, so I felt it was safe to go out. I was impressed with how well people had heeded the warning; there was very little traffic at a time of day when that isn't usually the case.

In this part of the state, we've been fortunate to have had very little trouble from this most recent hurricane. I'm sorry for those people in the Asheville area and other sections of the mountains and the western piedmont whose lives have been disrupted by major damage. It's still a little hard for me to think of damage from a hurricane, which I think many of us think of as a coastal phenomenon, being so far away from the coast.

And in case you're wondering if your memories are correct, yes, it was eight years ago that Hurricane Fran hit, on September 5. I'm wishing the namers of storms had not named this one Frances. I'm thinking this one, in her storm-brain, decided she needed to mess up any square inch of North Carolina that her predecessor left unscathed. And she has done a good job.

As I write, even though the bulk of Frances has headed north, there is still a tail of her bringing more rain to parts of the state east of here. I think it's safe to say that the whole state has felt some sort of impact from Fran or Frances, and the memories will linger.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I have some invitations to share for Gmail. Since it's still in beta testing, the only way to get an account is to be invited. If you'd like one, let me know.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky