Becky Says...

August 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 30

Of a hurricane and a birthday party.

Today we had the pleasure of Gaston's company. He was a soggy, soggy guest, and left major puddles in his wake. When I was driving to work, I noticed puddles forming on the road where there are not usually puddles.

That prompted me to make plans to be home before it even thought about getting dark, because I didn't want to risk getting caught in one of the low spots in our parking lot and not be able to gauge how deep a puddle was in front of me.

I had left a little early to get to the office, because I knew we were going out to lunch to celebrate the August birthdays of Associate One and Wendy. What I wasn't absolutely sure of until I got to the office was which restaurant had been chosen.

Turned out it was the one where my birthday party had been held last November. We even had the same table. Associate One was in the spot where I had sat that night, and I was where TeKay had been. I realized at some point that it felt a little odd that TeKay wasn't there. (Never mind that he doesn't work with us. Odd doesn't have to make sense.)

We had a great time. Good people and good food go a long way toward making for good gatherings. This one had plenty of both elements. And it's always nice to get to just sit and visit with the people with whom I work.

When the meal was over, the rain had dwindled. Apparently Gaston realized he wasn't going to get any cake, so he took his clouds and headed north. Last I heard, he was messing with the people in Maryland.

I bet they won't give him cake, either.

Text � copyright 2000-2004 Becky