Becky Says...

August 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 24

To make sure it wakes me up, the clock radio is across the room from me. I have to get up to make the noise go away. The distance means, though, that if I want to see what time it is and I don't have my glasses on, I wind up squinting just a bit, especially at the minutes (it's a digital clock).

Tonight was one of those times when I did some serious squinting at the clock. I was really tired when I got home from work, and really sleepy. I decided a nap was in order, and I did just that. But I woke up every so often and looked at the clock. mainly to see if I had slept long enough. If the answer to the question was negative, I turned over and went back to sleep. Finally, I decided the answer was positive, and got up.

Among other things I did at work this afternoon was fix the printer after it decided to get a label stuck in itself. I had heard the label get caught as the sheet of them was going through, and I knew if I could see it I could probably dislodge it before it was wound around something to the extent that a repair call was necessary.

I could indeed see the stuck label, and with the tip of my pocket knife blade I could get the edge of it loose. It was in a position where grasping it and pulling would dislodge it easily enough. But I needed something smaller than my fingers to do the job. I knew we had regular pliers, which would also be larger than the available space. What I was after was a pair of tweezers or a pair of needle-nosed pliers.

I happened to remember that one of the attorneys had a Swiss Army knife that had a lot of extra gadgets. Sure enough, it had a small pair of pliers that, while they weren't needle-nosed, were small enough to fit the space but long enough to grasp the label. Going slowly, so that I would not tear the label and make things worse, I pulled the label out of the printer.

That done, I put the Swiss Army knife back in its case and returned it to the attorney. I then went on with the work I was trying to finish before the end of the day. Which, in case you're curious, did not include printing any more labels.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky