Becky Says...

August 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 22

That rearranging project I started last fall by relocating a dresser is an ongoing thing. This weekend's big segment was to move a small three-drawer chest into the bedroom. I'm still dealing with things being out of place from that, but I am happy nonetheless.

The little chest was found furniture a couple of years ago. Someone moving out of one of the apartments in the next building up from mine didn't need it anymore, so it was left out beside the dumpsters --- apartment complex version of leaving something on the curb. And I knew it would be the perfect thing to have when I moved from the lobby to the built-in space at the law firm, since the built-in space had no drawers at all.

Once I moved into my own office at the firm, though, the little chest came home with me. It lived in the living room for a long time, storing whatever needed a home in it, mostly my own office supplies. But in round one of the rearranging, the chest got displaced. It was too tall to fit one place, and slightly too wide to work in another. So it lived for the last few months in front of the trunk that gets used as a coffee table.

Friday night, as I was sitting at my desk, it finally dawned on me that the little chest would be a perfect addition to the office area of my bedroom. I got out my trusty tape measure and checked to make sure the chest would fit the space I had in mind. It would, so on Saturday I moved the small items that had been in that space and brought the chest into the room.

In the process, I decided the desktop computer could live on the little chest. That would give me back the real estate on my desk that the monitor had been using, which would in turn allow me to put several other things on the desk where they would be useful.

The little chest is a little low to use as a computer table, but if I have need of using that computer it would be easy enough to work around the height issue. And I'm really enjoying both the space on the desk and the reopened floor space in the living room.

All in all, a good move.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky