Becky Says...

August 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 18

I am pleased to report that Katie the car is back home with me, all fixed and ready to head to work tomorrow. This means I won't be riding the bus, at least not as often.

But the bus rides while Katie was out of commission have reminded me how much I miss getting to downtown Chapel Hill. Since it's truly easy to do that on the bus, much moreso than trying to find parking there, I may well ride in on some Saturdays.

Don't get me wrong. I like where our offices are. But in my days at the two non-profit agencies, I worked in downtown Chapel Hill, and I miss seeing the sights on Franklin Street.

I got the car back just in time to go to the grocery store. I was running low on a couple of things, and as much as I like the bus service, sometimes getting groceries home on a bus is a little tricky. Sometimes I think I only like really heavy groceries. I usually reach that conclusion after I've walked a mile or so carrying them.

Once I got home, I took time to catch up with my journal reading and with a couple of message boards. On one of those there was a fairly lengthy discussion going on about newcomers (one such in particular), and how it's almost always wisest to lurk a bit before posting, especially in threads where emotions are running high. The particular newcomer failed to follow that wisdom, and has managed to stick both her feet in her mouth. Up to her knees.

I decided the best thing for me to do with the rest of the evening was rest. So I did just that. Turns out that was a good decision...I thoroughly enjoyed my nap.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky