Becky Says...

August 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 14

We've had company this weekend, Bonnie and Charley. They weren't welcome guests, being as how they're hurricanes. And we all know hurricanes frequently bring their evil spawn tornadoes along with them. You just never know what these families of storms will decide to do.

A lot of us in North Carolina didn't worry much about hurricanes, until Hugo came calling in 1989. I am sure there are people in the Charlotte area who wish they had done the sensible thing and gone to the beach that day, instead of staying home and getting whapped.

The one I know best is Fran, from 1996. She brought her children through my parking lot. I've already written that she was here, but I didn't tell you the really fun part. Late the night she and the kids arrived here, there was a burst of wind so strong it blew open my apartment's door. The locks have since been changed, but at the time all that was saving me from getting really wet was a chain lock. I'm glad the chain held; it was really too late at night for drop-in visitors.

As it happens, neither Bonnie nor Charley did much in this immediate area. Other parts of the state had some troubles, but all I've seen was some fairly heavy rain. My sympathies, of course, go to those whose lives were devastated by either storm.

I'm hoping these two will be our last unwelcome visitors for the year.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky