Becky Says...

August 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 1

Yes, it's August. There's a lot of dampness in the air; making it hard for air conditioners to keep up. There are some single raindrops joining their fellow drops and coming down to visit, ever so gently at the moment. They may be related to the rain heading in from the first tropical storm of the season, but they're not making much of a deal about the kinship.

I just came back from walking down to the rental office to drop off my payment. Along the way, I saw some of the adult neighbors doing the usual Sunday afternoon things...bringing in purchases from their cars, sitting on porch edges to conduct conversations, watching their children play.

I saw a sign on one door announcing that there's a new resident in the complex. The sign was a cutout of a stork carrying a bundle. Balloons accompanying the sign carried the message that the new arrival is a boy.

His older sisters were out on the porch having a small party with some other little girls. They were telling secrets in a-bit-too-loud-for-secrecy voices, guaranteeing that passersby would overhear. I did, but since what I heard was supposed to be kept between the girls, the skies, and me, I think I'll keep it to myself.

I smiled my best, "I'm a grownup and I won't tell the secret!" smile at them, and went on my way.

Yes, it's August.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky