Becky Says...

July 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 26

I watched much of the opening night coverage of the Democratic Party Convention tonight. It's been a lot of years since I've particularly cared to listen to speeches, but for several reasons, including Sen. John Edwards' current role in the party, this year is different. I listened to quite a few speeches tonight; not every word of all of them, but as I wrote to a friend, I was pretty much serving as a member of the choir for the Democratic preachers.

I remember watching the 1968 Democratic Party Convention, too. I wasn't old enough to vote, but I was definitely old enough to care that Martin Luther King had been assassinated in April that year and that Bobby Kennedy had been assassinated virtually in front of my television-watching eyes in June. I was old enough to care about all the unrest happening in the country at that time, and to know about the demonstrations, etc., taking place in Chicago (where that convention was held).

In the interest of fairness and from being curious about the two-party system, I also watched most of the Republican Party Convention in 1968. The differences and similarities in the two parties were something I recognized, and it was good to see both parties in action, so to speak.

I don't think I'd ever want to run for office. I'm not likely to be the next political activist in the family, either. But I do think paying attention to the candidates and their various ideas is a very good thing. Especially when followed up by a vote for the candidate of one's choosing.

Oops, I must think it's November already.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky