Becky Says...

July 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 8

Parts of the day not devoted to work were spent pondering. One thing that's been bouncing around in my mind a while now is whether or not there's a difference in the friendships I have with people I haven't shared room space with yet (also known as those from online) and those I have met in a less electronic format.

Putting into words the thoughts I've had, no, there's not a real difference, at least for me (of course, besides the obvious ones of availability to spend time together and such). If I think of you as my friend, you're my friend, no matter the context of knowing you.

And I've been lucky. Those times I've met people in room space after getting to know then in cyberspace, it has gone well. I haven't been disappointed, nor have I found out anything I didn't already know, at least not anything that would fundamentally alter the friendship. I think it's likely that's the case because of all the words exchanged in pixel.

I do realize this might well not be the case for other people and the friends they have. But that's how it works for me.

Text ©: copyright 2000-2004 Becky