Becky Says...

May 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






May 25

Knowing that I have an appreciation for anniversaries, Wendy made a point today of telling me that this was the seventh anniversary of Zoe's having come to be part of their family. In my estimation, it was one of the better things Zoe has ever had happen.

Before Zoe came to live with them, she had been part of a family in a nearby town. Unfortunately, as is often the case, the family split up. The husband and father left the home, leaving not only his human children but also Zoe. She had been his dog more than anyone else's in the household, and the other humans didn't really know how to take care of her.

Zoe was very overweight, very traumatized about the breakup of her prior home, and not quite sure what to think of all these new people, human and otherwise, who were now her family. It didn't take her too long to figure out these were good people she'd moved in with.

I met Zoe when she had been at Wendy and Rick's for a couple of weeks. And I fell in love with her on the spot. There was just something about that face, and about her head-butting my forearm to let me know she was not quite through having me pet her head, that did the trick.

Over the course of the summer, Wendy helped Zoe lose the extra weight. By the next time I saw her, in late August, she was in better physical shape. She was happier, and well settled into a routine.

These days, of course, she has added law firm work to her routine. And that pleases her Aunt Becky no end.

Zoe, outside my office

Text and photograph © copyright 2000-2004 Becky