Becky Says...

May 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






May 22

Did I mention that I'm stubborn? Well, I am.

Tonight that got proved when I was determined that a piece of computer hardware that even with all its cords attached didn't weigh a pound was not going to get the better of me. It was going to work correctly.

"It," for the record, is a CD burner, an external USB-connected model. I had wanted one for a while, and finally found exactly what I was after at a price that was excellent. So I got it.

The package arrived on Friday. I opened it, to make sure it had survived the trip and that all the pieces were there. But I knew I was tired enough Friday night that I really didn't want to start installing new hardware. Turns out that was a really wise move.

Tonight was the night. I got a good start, but then things started not going smoothly. I had hardware swearing it had no drivers. I had a CD with instructions not at all instructive. I had a computer telling me there were no new devices installed. You name it, if it had to do with installation hell, I probably had it.

I did stop for a bit of time because we had a storm. I decided frying all the electronics would definitely not be a good idea. As soon as it was safe, though, I persevered. I finally found the correct name and location of the driver, so that got happily installed. There were a couple of other hurdles to leap, but I finally managed to burn a CD.

And the best part was opening the files on the CD and seeing that it all worked.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky