Becky Says...

May 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






May 3

My day at work was a good one, but it did have some oddities. First up had to do with the billing program listing for a client. An attorney who was out of the office today had left a time entry to post that only had the name of the client's business. Kathy couldn't remember how the client was listed in the billing program, but knew I had done the setup.

I knew we had used the client's own name as the billing contact name, with the last name as the keyword. Then neither Kathy nor I could remember the client's last name.

Kathy actually had no reason to remember the name. I did, because I had met the client socially. I could recall where she lived, where she worked, and the age of at least one of her children, in addition to which of my friends had introduced us at a gathering last summer. But not the last name.

It didn't dawn on me to check my file-opening ledger, but since I remembered the client's rather unusual first name, I did a search on my computer for that name. Sure enough, I found the whole name and told Kathy. Then I felt a little silly about not remembering to look in the ledger.

That was followed by some weirdness with Zoe. It was a rainy day, and one thing my dogfriend and I have in common is back problems that often make rainy days less than fun. So when she showed up in my office wanting lunch before it was time for me to eat, I decided she might hurt enough that she wouldn't want to have to get up from her resting spot again soon, and I went ahead and fed her.

Apparently she hoped I'd just forget that meal and feed her again when I ate a little later---she came and stayed with me, and gave me her absolute best starving dog routine. Did not work.

Then later, she came in search of a tranquilizer, which she's given when it's going to storm (she panics in storms otherwise). I keep one dose of the doggie tranquilizer on my desk, and she came in to the office and stared at it. I got the pill, put it in my hand, and she licked it up (if she doesn't want it, she doesn't take it). We settled down to work (me) and sleep (Zoe), and waited for a storm to arrive.

The threatened storm didn't happen, but Zoe got some much-needed relaxation anyway.

And I join her in being glad there was no storm. The day had had enough odd things happen without worrying about the vagaries of stormy weather.

Text � copyright 2000-2004 Becky