Becky Says...

April 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 19

Randomness, in two parts:

I am crocheting something with variegated yarn that reminds me very much of ribbon candy. I always enjoy seeing how the colors will come together in variegated yarn, and this particular project is providing me with lots of enjoyment. I told a friend yesterday that crocheting does good things for my soul.

The spam these days seems to be a mixed bag of offers to help me go to college, medication for conditions I don't have, offers to enlarge body parts I don't possess, and offers to refinance my non-existent mortgage. I really feel sorry for anyone who needs all of these things...that would be an undereducated, unwell, underendowed sort whose interest rate is too high.

April 18

It's been a lovely, quiet weekend. I've had a chance to work on a crochet project that I'm really happy about, and do a few things around the apartment. And I managed to beat the crowds when I went shopping this afternoon. Finding a couple of things on a deep discount sale made the shopping even better.

I think many of the people who would have been shopping were at Apple Chill, which is a street fair sponsored each spring by the Town of Chapel Hill. I haven't been in a few years, but when I have gone, I've enjoyed it.

One important-to-me thing I did on Saturday was reply to a question at The Usual Suspects message board about fears. It was another of those instances of opening up, and I thought I'd share my answer here:

I really hate being in a stopped car heading uphill. This one goes back to childhood and being in a car that stalled and started rolling backward down a steep hill.

I am afraid of water in the swimming sense. Intellectually I know better, but somehow I'm convinced that I'm the one human to whom the rules of physics do not apply. There were two episodes of thinking I was going to drown as a child that make this be true for me.

I don't want to be anywhere around bees, wasps, whatever that stings. I have, in all my fifty years, never been stung. I'd like to keep that streak going.

There are certain driving situations that I avoid these days because they make me too anxious---heavy traffic at high speeds being the chief among them. I'm fine if someone else is driving. I've learned the back way to lots of places thanks to this one.

There are those of you who already knew at least part of these things. And there are a few other things that I am afraid of, but those were the first that came to mind. None of them rule my life, by the way.

All in all, a very good weekend.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky