Becky Says...

April 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 8

Once again there is something about Maundy Thursday and death.

I was reading the newspaper today before I left for work, and saw that someone I had known from my days at Non-Profit Agency #2 had died on Palm Sunday. Her memorial service was held this afternoon. I felt bad that I couldn't rearrange things to be there, but I found out way too late to do that.

My hope for her in the passing is that she's at peace. Her life had held a lot of challenges.

Beyond the person, this death represented for me another ending, that of my association with Non-Profit Agency #2. Although I quit working there over thirteen years ago, I was still involved with the agency for some years afterward, showing up for public things and visiting with former coworkers on occasion.

Then some ugliness happened there. I haven't addressed that in these entries; it's not anything that has to do with me. I don't really consider it to be my story to tell, so I won't, even though it's public knowledge in Chapel Hill. But after the ugliness, the place began to have an attitude I hated to witness. It was not open hostility as much as it was lack of trust.

There was nothing I could do to help them repair it.

All I could do was grieve the passing of the spirit I had known while there. And that grief is revisited today.

Text � copyright 2000-2004 Becky