Becky Says...

March 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March 15

A week ago, the wind came. It brought with it an aura of weirdness. All around, there was damage in some spots and none scant feet away. It was one of those times when people who barely greet each other on calm days were in chatty moods.

The wind made me think of Cat Stevens' lyric, "I listen to the wind ... of my soul."

And the wind reminded me of the fragility of life, by breaking this limb from a long-leaf pine, carrying it across a building, and depositing it on the shrubbery outside our offices. The bit of brown in the middle of the pine needles is a baby pine cone.

A gift, and a lesson, from the wind.

Branch of long-leaf pine, with baby pine cone.

Text and image © copyright 2000-2004 Becky