Becky Says...

February 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






February 15

It snowed. Before it snowed, it rained. While it rained, it also sleeted. You may all join me in saying, "joys abounding."

I wound up having to run an extra set of errands this afternoon, because I had forgotten to put something on my grocery list yesterday. It was raining a little tiny bit when I left home. Before I got to the shopping center, the rain had become steady and some sleet showed up for added amusement. I decided I was too close to Errand Central not to continue, so I went on. You have probably guessed I made it home without incident.

Again I will sing the praises of my new jacket. Its hood gets the credit today for keeping my glasses rain-free and my ears warm, too. And since my errands today involved a second store, from which I needed something a little bulky, I was very happy not to have to deal with an umbrella. That jacket may well be the best thing I've bought in recent memory.

The shopping done, I did a couple of chores before settling in for the evening. I'm not absolutely sure when it started snowing, but it did a grand job of covering things before I got around to looking out the window. Even though I could live the rest of my days quite happily without seeing another snowstorm, there is a certain beauty to newly-fallen snow, especially at night.

So there is once again snow here. If this is going to be the way of winters from now on, I think my next major purchase may be a pair of those new-fangled snowshoes. The ones that have ice cleats attached, please. And a couple of ski poles to complete the ensemble.

They'll go well with the jacket.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky