Becky Says...

January 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






January 4

Sometimes I'm incredibly slow on the personal uptake. I try to pay attention to what's going on in my life, but every so often something slips by me. This time, the something is how much I've missed taking the time to do private journal entries.

And since it's rather easy to find that time---write the thoughts instead of doing something else less personally worthwhile---I'm definitely going to go back to it, on a more dedicated basis than I have been in the last couple of years.

No, this is not my way of saying something is going on that I can't talk about in public. It's my way of saying I need to set down some thoughts that aren't ready for complete sentences.

Private journals, like the online ones, are good ways to keep track of oneself. And I've done something along those keeping-track lines from teenage years onward. I've done fewer private journal entries since this site has been going, but there have been some that told me, on rereading, a good deal about myself.

One thing that's nice is to see how I've changed, and how I've stayed the same. Things I thought were morally wrong twenty years ago, for instance, I still do. And things I thought were morally right? Still do on those, too. I've changed in how I spend free time, and in other ways.

It's interesting to witness one's personal evolution.


Holidailies

I have been participating in Holidailies, a group of writers who promised to try very, very hard to update daily all the month of December. The time has been extended through January 6, for those who wish to continue. I was familiar with the work of quite a few of the writers, and have really enjoyed becoming familiar with others.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky