Becky Says...

December 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 27

How not to make a sale to me: pester me. I swear I think I'm going to have that printed on a t-shirt to wear on shopping expeditions. It might save some time. At the very least, I could point to it as I'm leaving the establishments wherein I have bought nothing.

I was the intended prey of an overzealous saleswoman this afternoon. In the small shopping center nearest my apartment there were some new stores, including what was being referred to as a warehouse.

Let's call a spade a shovel, shall we? This place was a small overstock shop, with lots of stuff from a fairly trendy clothing company and some things from other sources. The prices were good, and while I wasn't really in the market for anything in particular, I wanted to see what was available.

And if Ms. Overzealous hadn't taken it upon herself to pester me every time I stopped for ten seconds in front of different items, I might very well have bought a thing or two. Didn't I want to try something on? Didn't I want to be helped to try something on?

Well, no, at the moment, I wanted to see what the hell merchandise they had, and whether they had anything that was in my size and price ranges. I didn't feel the need to tell her either my size range or my budget, since I wasn't really in need of anything. So whenever she asked if I wanted to try something on, I just announced again that I was browsing.

I was glad to get out of there and into a couple of other shops where the merchants weren't so overzealous. Those shops I will revisit if I'm in the market for their wares. I'm not so sure about this warehouse place's chances to ever sell me anything.


Holidailies

I am participating this year in Holidailies, a group of writers who promise to try very, very hard to update daily all month. I am familiar with the work of quite a few of the writers, and am enjoying becoming familiar with others.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky