Becky Says...

December 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 26

I've followed a low-key Christmas with a low-key day after. I've never been much of a power shopper, so it's not unusual for me to stay home from the fray.

I do occasionally indulge in some end-of-the-year shopping, but I usually wait a day or so later in the month. Before I do that, I need to do some housework and some taking of stock, to see what it is I need.

Something else I plan to do in the next few days is spend some quality time rereading the holiday cards I've received. I always enjoy getting the greetings, and this year's batch have been wonderful.

I hope you've had time this month to explore new-to-you journals by checking those of writers participating in Holidailies. One of the sites I've come to know is Telegram. I've found the entries to be concise and beautifully crafted. This one has joined my list of daily must-reads.

December 25

I hope all of you who celebrate it have enjoyed your Christmas. And I hope all of you have had a good day, no matter what you did.

I warn you that the next paragraph deals with something very sad.

Perhaps the saddest story I've read or heard this holiday season is that of the finding of a dead infant at a recycling plant in Cumberland County, North Carolina, yesterday. Today it was announced that an autopsy showed the baby was stillborn.

My heart goes out to the person who gave birth to that dead infant, then could not do other than dispose of the body in a bin containing corrugated cardboard. My heart also goes to those who made the sad discovery, and those whose Christmas Day was spent doing the necessary investigation.

That story made me enjoy even more the happy little sounds of the neighbors' children, being watched by their parents, playing outside with their new toys this afternoon. It made me grateful for all the Christmases I've shared with loved ones.

It made me grateful for life itself.


Holidailies

I am participating this year in Holidailies, a group of writers who promise to try very, very hard to update daily all month. I am familiar with the work of quite a few of the writers, and am enjoying becoming familiar with others.

Text � copyright 2000-2003 Becky